5 Comments
Jul 4, 2020Liked by Peter Tortorici

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time.

Expand full comment

Good for Kara...and Tortorici before Kara. 300 advertisers needs to be 3000 advertisers before he will wake up. One by one, let's hope it becomes a tsunami!

Expand full comment

I understand and support your concerns. As part of the media & advertising industry, you have much better understanding of this issue. As a widow with no family nearby and limited mobility, it has kept me in touch with many colleagues and friends over the years, which is so important to my well-being. I have never purchased anything off ads on FB and vow to never do so. Kudos for your integrity and i’m glad we can still keep in touch. 👍💜

Expand full comment
author

It’s such a complicated issue because of stories like yours and so many others where the platform helps accomplish good and important things. Am glad that it helps you remain connected and well.... but with enough pressure maybe they will rethink their business model which is at the heart of why the same tools are so dangerous and disruptive. Thanks for staying connected to me!

Expand full comment

Thanks Peter. I just read your newsletter on the reason you left Facebook, and the issues with mark Z refusing to limit misinformation. I don’t follow people like 45 because I don’t need that trash in my life. However, there are cousins of mine on FB who I would like to censor! 😘. I’ll probably block them when it gets closer to the elections because I can’t stand their attitudes .

Expand full comment